Do misdemeanors require bail?
When it comes to a misdemeanor and bail in Michigan, you may have a bail amount set for the offense, depending on the offense. Almost all misdemeanors in Michigan have preset bail amounts. Usually, the bail amounts for such offenses are small enough that defendants are able to pay the amount in cash and get released from jail after being booked and processed. In the event the defendant is unable to pay the full amount, they will have to get in touch with a bail bondsman and arrange for a misdemeanor bond amount to be paid. No matter whether you’ve been jailed for a misdemeanor or felony, if you need felony and misdemeanor bonds in Mt. Clemens and Troy, MI get in touch with the reliable team at You Call Bail Bond Agency. We offer a full range of bail services. When you need help fast, give us a call at 844-YOU-WALK.
How much is bail for a misdemeanor?
In general, bail amounts for misdemeanors will vary. In Michigan, misdemeanor amounts are on a set schedule. In some cases you should be able to pay in cash after you’re jailed. With some misdemeanors like DUI or battery of a spouse, bail could run anywhere between $2,500 to $10,000 or more. These amounts will vary also depending on your criminal record and the court’s belief that you’ll return for your hearing. If you are in jail on misdemeanor charges, you may need misdemeanor bonds. Make sure professionals like those at You Call Bail Bond Agency handle your case. Call us anytime you need help.
Misdemeanor bail bonds
When you are jailed on misdemeanor charges, the misdemeanor bonds process is similar to that of felonies. After your arrest, you’ll be processed in the following way:
- Booking and processing. Here you will be fingerprinted and photographed. Afterward, if the bail amount is low and you have the cash available, you can bail yourself out of jail.
- You will receive a bail hearing where a judge will determine the bail amount, usually on a set scale for misdemeanors. You may be in jail for several hours or even several days before the hearing, depending on when you were processed and when a judge is available.
- You will have an opportunity to get in touch with a bail bonds agent like You Call Bail Bond Agency to arrange for a misdemeanor bond. Normally, you have to have a friend or relative get in touch with the bailbondsman, who is paid a fee based on a percentage of the bail amount.
- Once the bond agent pays the bond, you will be released from jail.
Remember, posting bail is an agreement between you and the court that you will return for your appointed court date. Failure to do so will lead to a warrant being issued for your arrest. You may also face further charges, and may not be eligible for bail for failure to appear. If you are unable to appear on the appointed date, please contact the court.
Do you have to go to court for a misdemeanor?
A court appearance will depend on your age and the type of offense you’ve allegedly committed. Traffic tickets, for instance, you rarely have to go to court, as long as you follow directions on the ticket and pay the fine, unless you are under the age of 17. In that case, you will have to appear either in district court or the family division of the circuit court.
If you are 17 years or older and have received a ticket, and have not been arrested or jailed, for a misdemeanor offense, you will have to appear in court at a set date for an arraignment, where you will either plea guilty or not guilty. If you have been arrested and jailed, you may be bonded out, but will still be expected to appear in court no matter the offense.
What is the minimum sentence for a Class A misdemeanor?
Instead of Class A, B, or C misdemeanors, Michigan classifies its misdemeanors by the amount of jail time you may receive if convicted. A misdemeanor like disturbing the peace, for instance, is normally punishable for up to 93 days in jail and/or a $500 fine. The next level of misdemeanor is punishable by up to one year in jail and/or a fine up to $1,000. Offenses such as larceny of property valued at more than $200 but less than $1,000 falls under this category. A high court misdemeanor like negligent homicide by vehicle is punishable by up to two years in prison and a fine of up to $2,000.
How much is a lawyer for a misdemeanor?
Whatever the charges, if you can afford to hire a lawyer, you can expect to pay anywhere between $1,500 and $3,500 in fees. For many misdemeanors, Michigan requires you to have a lawyer present at your court hearing. As with most cases, if you are unable to afford an attorney, the state will assign a public defender to your case.
What is misdemeanor bail jumping
If you have paid a misdemeanor bond to get out of jail on misdemeanor charges, you’ve made a promise to the court that you will appear in court for an appointed date. If you fail to appear in court intentionally, this is considered bail jumping. Normally, the court will issue a bench warrant for your arrest if you fail to appear. Once you are arrested for bail jumping, it is unlikely a bond will be set for you on this charge. The minimum sentence for misdemeanor bail jumping is one year in jail and fines for up to $1,000.
Call for Help Today
When you’ve been arrested and jailed on misdemeanor charges and need to arrange for a misdemeanor bond in Mt. Clemens and Troy, MI, count on the professionals at You Call Bail Bond Agency. We will work quickly to get you out of jail as soon as possible. Get in touch with us today by calling 844-YOU-WALK.